Home » Fear and Anxiety » Introduction to Training for Ranger Border Collie

Introduction to Training for Ranger Border Collie

Although I haven’t quite mapped out all the goals or even all the problems I am going to keep his blog going so I can monitor progress, fingers crossed there is some!

I have posted before on some of Rangers issues however in short he is a very fearful dog that has anxiety and lashes out re-actively or very submissively (lies on his back)  as his defence.

I am doing an obedience instructor course this year and part of our assessment is a major assignment on behaviour change and a plan for how it was achieved.

There are a few behaviours I would really like to have an influence on for Ranger

1. His behaviour toward my cockatiels. See video here : 

2. His behavior when presented with car keys or a lead (hides under the bed)

3. Resource guarding from my other dog (not from me thank goodness).

4. Being able to touch his back and paws without his being fearful: usually get some whale eyes and his nose nudges my hand out of the way.

There is a good change this list will expand but all in good time.

Here goes!My Ranger Boy

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

