Home » Desensitization to Handling » Training Day 7: Counter Conditioning and Desensitization to Rangers paws being handled.

Training Day 7: Counter Conditioning and Desensitization to Rangers paws being handled.

Today’s training session was inspired by Dr Sophia Yin’s post about Counter Conditioning for Toenail Trim Aggression. We took a little longer than she did and didn’t make it quite as far but I was really happy with our efforts and Ranger was very brave. Our session actually lasted 3 minutes although the video is only 2min 30sec. I’m happy for any feedback and recommendations as I know there are a lot of mistakes in there.

 

3 thoughts on “Training Day 7: Counter Conditioning and Desensitization to Rangers paws being handled.

  1. Wow! Cool success! He went from withdrawing his paw to offering it! I might try this with Lu. We can get through nail trimming but she certainly doesn’t enjoy it. I’d say tolerates.

    • I just tried it, and although I think for Lu it was more about eating to block out her nails being done, it was the best nail-trimming I’ve been able to do with her in a long time. She only pulled her foot back once or twice. Might have to recruit my husband for future nail trims now. 🙂

      • Wow that’s great! I think it would be important to keep practicing it even when you are not doing the nails. Its amazing how quickly they learn to trust us.

Leave a Reply

